The Perfect Leader Part 2 – #7 – Vision Casting

Ministry vision refers to the future rather than the status quo. God’s kingdom work never allows us to put our hand to the plow and look back. How can you ensure the vision you have for your ministry stays future oriented? What do you do to keep this vision alive for your team?

6 Responses to “The Perfect Leader Part 2 – #7 – Vision Casting”

  1. howellatcalvary Says:

    I want to share these quotes that impacted me.

    “People cannot give away what they do not possess (vision). Trying to transfer something before it is truly in our possession leads to a breakdown in communication.”

    You were given life because God had a dream for you. Individually, specifically, by name. … Within you is the opportunity to join with God in fulfilling the great adventure birthed in His mind for you from eternity. … God placed in each of us a yearning for significance because he envisioned our participation in something that stretches beyond our brief lives on earth.”

    “We recruit men and women to participate in a vision that will have eternal ramifications, eternal consequences.”

    “One of the most significant tasks of a leader is to transmit the organizational vision to others. … It is not people who are right who change the world. It’s people who can communicate their definition of right to others who change the world. … I never assume anymore that even my closest associates can read my mind.”

    This brings me to these questions:

    How can you ensure the vision you have for your ministry stays future oriented?
    First— I must ensure that I have a clear vision for Calvary’s ministries. I must continually seek ways to help Calvary become more faithful in being the Body of Christ.
    Second— I must ensure that Jesus is the head of the Body. I must always seeking God’s leading and direction for everything I can influence. God is always challenging, encouraging and urging. I must continually test my vision and assumptions against God’s purposes and guidance.

    What do you do to keep this vision alive for your team?
    First — I consider “my team” all Calvary’s ministry leaders. I need to ensure that each ministry leader keeps a vision and passion for their calling and ministry. Anyone can become discouraged and burned out. I want to support and encourage our ministry leaders.
    Second, I want to ensure that all our ministries complement one another and create a network of care, support, equipping and outreach to people inside our walls and beyond.

  2. Sally Giffney Says:

    Thanks, Howell, This is very relevant to me as we are in the process of putting forth a new culture at CMC. I am not sure I have communicated to my staff our new or extended vision, which is part of my responsibility as supervisor. So, I find these words very encouraging and motivating. I think there is something of a challenge when one takes a Christian perspective and tries to work it in the corporate world. The good news here is that our new President is a strong Christian and has no hesitancy in bringing that into his position. So, challenging and exciting is somewhat my feelings, along with overwhelmed.

    Thanks so much for the time and energy you have put into this study. I deeply appreciate it.

    Blessings, Sally

  3. howellatcalvary Says:

    Nancy Triezenberg says:

    What I do to keep this vision alive for my team is that I can only share my vision with them?
    They need to understand and want to pursue the vision but their ways may be different from mine. We need to work together towards the goal of the vision with each temperament and background knowledge that everyone brings to the table. We all sometimes feel like Moses did in feeling inadequate however the Lord is with us when we call upon His name. None of us are adequate without Him. Our goal in the vision HAS to be Christ Centered. If that is the case then His Perfect plan will come to fruition. His wisdom will work through us.

    Leonard Sweet reminds us “It’s not people who are right who change the world. It’s people who can communicate their definition of right to others who change the world.”

    With the Power of the Holy Spirit we are called to be Kingdom Builders who play a role in Christ’s vision for all men’s eternal security.

    The start of the communication of the vision of life eternal is to start in our homes with our children. Clear communication is borne of what we say, what we do, and who we are.

    When people communicate with Truth and enthusiasm “things start to happen”.

  4. Corliss Says:

    I think that by it’s nature, children’s ministry is future focused. We work toward a goal of helping kids to understand the TRUTH of the Bible and then to apply that truth to their lives. We are working now for something that we will not see until the future. The future could be as soon as next week or it could be years from now before God shows us what He accomplished through the plans we followed that we have prayerfully decided are the plans He wants us to follow.

    The most important thing that I can do to help keep this vision alive for my team is to frequently remind them of the importance of the calling God has placed on our lives. I think the final paragraph of the book sums it up nicely. ” God placed in each of us a yearning for significance. Yet few of us actually devote our lives to great endeavors. The message of Christianity tells us that we can participate in something that stretches beyond our brief lives on earth. By passing on the vision of God to the next generation of His people, we can have a hand in eternity” I am blessed to be a part of a team that comprehends this great truth and all of us strive to be used by God to have a hand in eternity. It should be my primary purpose to encourage everyone to keep that eternal perspective.

  5. accessrx.info Says:

    Ed Prescriptions

    hey cool stuff

  6. freebie Says:

    I’m not sure exactly why but this site is loading very slow for me.
    Is anyone else having this issue or is it a issue on my end?
    I’ll check back later on and see if the problem
    still exists.

Leave a comment